I gave a little heads up a couple weeks ago, but THIS! Is one of the best things I’ve ever bought. A few weeks ago, at the Alameda Flea, I saw it, hopped over, and for whatever reason debated if I should get this. I stood there and debated. Luckily futureKatie slapped me in the brain, because I did end up getting it, and sheesh, I would have been an idiot not to.

The Golden Encyclopedia was published in1946, so it’s not the most politically correct book to read 67 years later. Native Americans are “Indians,” the household chores are women’s work, and many other old-minded tidbits you’d do best to ignore.

DSC_0798_s

Cornelius DeWitt did a magnificent job illustrating this entire Encyclopedia. Each page is better than the next, and I’ve taken photos of too many for one post. There will many, so buckle up. I’m just going to let you look at ’em.

DSC_0797_s

DSC_0795_s

Rivers

DSC_0757_s

Wonders Made by Man

DSC_0752_1_s

Wonders Made by Nature

DSC_0752_2_s

Weather
DSC_0753_sTREES!
DSC_0755_sTools

DSC_0756_s

DSC_0756_s2

Indians

DSC_0766_s

Trains (yep, in last week’s post but I’d like to keep it all together)
Golden Encyclopedia

The illustrations in this thing are unreal. Fine, totally real, but they don’t make educational children’s books like this anymore.. do they?

More next week.

