Pleasantly surprised by the Daily Heller this morning. Loved the post on Tamar Cohen so much, I’m spreading the word.

11_06

14_01

13_24

13_finalimagessmall100-no67

13_finalimagessmall100no63

Tamar’s self-proclaimed fascination with polka dots and vintage paper ephemera has introduced the rest of the world to her spectacular creations. Her work is filled with screen-printed polka dots mixed with pages from old books and advertisements. “This palette of visual obsessions inspires me in many ways, as I explore the relationship between high and low, order and chaos, the abstracted and the everyday. I also strive to push and challenge the boundaries of conventional printmaking: I paint with paper,” she says.

And my favorite part of her statement?

“Like the varied uneven edges of my work, interpretation is best when not limited by four corners.”

She has a show at Gallery Ehva in Provincetown, MA, but you should also check out her other work.

One Response to “Tamar Cohen.”

  1. bblissful

    Wow. You’ve got great eyes and your Spider senses for design sensibility are right on. Just loving your blog, you fellow Marc Johns lover, you! Well done. I’ve linked to you in my recent post on the man himself.
    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS