C215 is a street artist born in Paris, but from the 7th-16th of October, he’s been all over the Karol Bagh District of New Delhi. These photos are from the Flickr site dedicated to this trip to India, but I also discovered this interview. Not the best, but at least you get a glimpse of what this guy is really like.

 

Some of the language is a bit awkward, but enjoy:
From fatcap.com {July 2008}

FT: Where are you from? What’s your background?

I am from Paris. I have always been drawing and I painted in the street with a spray bomb for the first time almost twenty years ago. It already was “vespas” of a real size and I still paint them today, but with stencils, not on “freehand” anymore… I followed the university studies in art history, until a PhD at Sorbonne. Things only became serious little by little. 

What was the interest in art and what led you to create all those stencils?

The stencil allows me to combine my passion for drawing and for graffiti. It is so good to affix in a street the work of several days in a few minutes and without any necessary authorization.
How would you define your work and what inspires you?
I do stencil, realistic but stylized, that I create as craftwork and without a computer, but along with a pictures. I start with a pictures to end up with another,  the one of my work painted outdoors, which is part of a framework while diverting it.
  

You seem to love the facial expressions, and you use the power of it through your talent. Can you explain to us why you do have this “obsession”?
The faces are landscapes, and they provide a wide variety of expressions, marking identities, backgrounds, and therefore many messages. I paint mostly tramps, refugees and street kids, people who really live the experience of the street and to whom the street art is almost never intended.
What was your best and worst creation?
We all feel that the latter is always the best until the next that disgusts us from it.
I saw a video of you in London. You are doing your artwork as if it was legal. Is it the best way not to be arrested?
The problem is not me, but the law, so I do not feel guilty doing it. Maybe it is more natural then.
Do you do drugs? Do you need something particular to be creative?
Ahaha, if only I was creative. I never have ideas, only obsessions…
What was you most adventurous and dangerous graffiti-stencil artwork?
Painting my self-portrait outside the national portrait gallery in London, a Friday afternoon before a huge passing crowd without any authorization.
What kind of reaction do you want to evoke with your art?
I just want them to get emotion. And make them sense again the feeling of freedom.
What are your favorite spots?
Rusty or all over tagged doors.
How do you choose you images and where they are placed in the street?
Everything is contextualized and I prepare new stencils every day, so there are new street stencils done every week, each one prepared while thinking about the next trip.
Name an artist whose work you respect and admire.
Ernest Pignon Ernest
How would you describe street art and what makes it different from graffiti, or would you say it falls under the same umbrella?
Graffiti is mainly marking his name with style in the city while street art is more aiming at transforming contextual situations in a defined architecture.
What’s coming up in the next few months? Projects, shows, collab?
Exactly. A lot of things. Too many certainly. I would love to stay somewhere quiet and hidden and cut new stuff without an Internet upload during the months and then suddenly show everything.
What’s your real goal?
Basically just being free of painting until I die. Surely also make my 5 year-old daughter Nina proud of her father, and teach her what I know if she’s interested.
Any words of wisdom?
Stop consuming.
The rest of the interview can be found here. {another interview is there also}
Check out more photos at C215’s photostream on Flickr.
Also, this video shows how he actually puts the stencils up {and how excited kids are to watch him work}
